Friday, May 27, 2011

Hank Williams...The Original Singles Collection Plus

Hank Williams, Sr. (September 17, 1923 – January 1, 1953), born Hiram King Williams, was an American singer-songwriter and musician. Regarded as one of the most significant country music artists, Williams recorded 35 singles (five released posthumously) that would place in the Top 10 of the Billboard Country and Western Best Sellers chart, including 11 that ranked number one.

Born in Mount Olive, Butler County, Alabama, Williams moved to Georgiana, where he met Rufus Payne, a black street performer who gave him guitar lessons in exchange for meals or money. Payne had a major influence on Williams' later musical style. During this time, Williams informally changed his name to Hank, believing it to be a better name for country music. He moved to Montgomery and his music career began there in 1937 when WSFA radio station producers hired him to perform and host a 15-minute program. He formed as backup the Drifting Cowboys band, which was managed by his mother, and dropped out of school to devote his time to his career.

When several of his band members were conscripted into military service during World War II, Williams had trouble with their replacements and was dismissed by WSFA due to his alcoholism. Williams eventually married Audrey Sheppard, who managed the singer for nearly a decade. After recording "Never Again" and "Honky Tonkin'" with Sterling Records, he signed a contract with MGM Records. In 1948 he released "Move it on Over", which became a hit, and also joined the Louisiana Hayride radio program. One year later, he released a cover of "Lovesick Blues", which carried him into the mainstream of music. After an initial rejection, Williams joined the Grand Ole Opry. He had 11 number one songs between 1948 and 1953, though he was unable to read or notate music to any significant degree. Among the hits he wrote were "Your Cheatin' Heart", "Hey, Good Lookin'", and "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry".

Several years of back pain, alcoholism and prescription drug abuse severely deteriorated Williams's health; he divorced Audrey and was dismissed by the Grand Ole Opry, citing unreliability and frequent drunkenness. Williams died in the early morning hours of New Years Day in 1953 at the age of 29 from heart failure exacerbated by pills and alcohol. Despite his short life, Williams has had a major influence on twentieth-century popular music. The songs he wrote and recorded have been covered by numerous artists, and have been hits in various genres including pop, gospel, and blues. He has been inducted into multiple music halls of fame.

If you're a Country music fan you will know all about Hank Williams. If you are not, then you should. The man is a music legend and has influenced countless other artists. There are many complilations of his music available, and this is a good place to start.

Review.."This three-CD, 84-song indoctrination goes a long way to explain why Hank Williams was country's first big legend and a superstar by 25. Smitten with the blue yodel of Jimmie Rodgers and the mountain whine of Roy Acuff, Williams gradually added a racy edge to brew his own style of honky-tonk. And with the good-natured wink of "Hey, Good Lookin," the Cajun spice of "Jambalaya," and the donkey's bray of "Honky Tonkin'," Williams shows that he could balance his melancholia with upbeat songs of joy. Whatever his subject matter, however, Hank's aim was always for the heart. As these songs attest, he rarely missed. In beautifully restored audio." --Alanna Nash (Amazon)
disc 1
1. I'm Not Coming Home Anymore
2. Never Again (Will I Knock On Your Door)
3. Calling You
4. Wealth Won't Save Your Soul
5. When God Comes And Gathers His Jewels
6. My Love For You (Has Turned To Hate)
7. I Don't Care (If Tomorrow Never Comes)
8. Pan American
9. Honky Tonkin' (1947 Single Version)
10. (Last Night) I Heard You Crying In Your Sleep
11. Move It On Over
12. On The Banks Of The Old Pontchartrain
13. Fly Trouble
14. My Sweet Love Ain't Around
15. Rootie Tootie
16. Honky Tonkin' (1948 Single Version)
17. I'll Be A Bachelor Til I Die
18. I'm A Long Gone Daddy
19. The Blues Come Around
20. Six More Miles (To The Graveyard)
21. I Saw The Light
22. A Mansion On The Hill
23. I Can't Get You Off Of My Mind
24. Lovesick Blues
25. Wedding Bells
26. I've Just Told Mama Goodbye
disc 2
1. Mind Your Own Business
2. There'll Be No Teardrops Tonight
3. Lost Highway
4. You're Gonna Change (Or I'm Gonna Leave)
5. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
6. My Bucket's Got A Hole In It
7. May You Never Be Alone
8. I Just Don't Like This Kind Of Living
9. Long Gone Lonesome Blues
10. My Son Calls Another Man Daddy
11. Why Don't You Love Me
12. A House Without Love
13. Why Should We Try Anymore
14. They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
15. Moanin' The Blues
16. Nobody's Lonesome For Me
17. Cold, Cold Heart
18. Dear John
19. I Can't Help It (If I'm Still In Love With You)
20. Howlin' At The Moon
21. My Heart Would Know
22. Hey, Good Lookin'
23. (I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle
24. Crazy Heart
25. I'd Still Want You
26. Baby We're Really In Love
27. I'm Sorry For You My Friend
28. Honky Tonk Blues
disc 3
1. Half As Much
2. Let's Turn Back The Years
3. Jambalaya (On The Bayou)
4. Window Shopping
5. Settin' The Woods On Fire
6. You Win Again
7. I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive
8. I Could Never Be Ashamed Of You
9. Kaw-Liga
10. Your Cheatin' Heart
11. I Won't Be Home No More
12. Take These Chains From My Heart
13. Please Make Up Your Mind
14. Ramblin' Man
15. House Of Gold
16. With Tears In My Eyes
17. Alone And Forsaken
18. Fool About You
19. I'm Free At Last
20. Someday You'll Call My Name
21. I Can't Escape From You
22. Something Got A Hold Of Me
23. Weary Blues From Waitin'
24. I Ain't Got Nothin' But Time
25. Angel Of Death
26. There's No Room In My Heart For The Blues
27. At The First Fall Of Snow
28. The Log Train
29. All The Love I Ever Had
30. There's A Tear In My Beer



Exeter said...


Seems I've found this too late, as the files are no longer there.
Any chance of a re-up?
Thanks a lot!

Marty said...

new links have been updated...enjoy

Exeter said...

Thanks a lot!

Exeter said...


Thanks a lot.....
However, I don't seem to get "MEGA" to work.. I loads to 99% and then stops..

g8rrick said...

Thanks for the Hank