Monday, April 21, 2014

The Guess Who...American Woman..1970...breakthrough album from Canadian power rock band

The Guess Who are a Canadian rock band originally from Winnipeg, Manitoba. Initially gaining recognition in Canada, the group also found international success from the late 1960s through the mid-1970s with numerous hit singles, including "No Time", "American Woman", "These Eyes" and "Share the Land". Several former members of The Guess Who, notably Randy Bachman (of Bachman–Turner Overdrive), have found considerable success outside the band.

They started out as a local Winnipeg band formed by singer/guitarist Chad Allan in 1958 and initially called Al and the Silvertones. This was changed to Chad Allan & the Reflections by 1962, by which point the band consisted of Chad Allan (vocals/guitar), Bob Ashley (keyboards), Randy Bachman (guitars), Jim Kale (bass), and Garry Peterson (drums). The Reflections name was chosen since it was similar to the British group The Shadows, which was one of the band's biggest influences. All the band members were born in Winnipeg.

The band's debut single ("Tribute To Buddy Holly") was released on Canadian-American Records in 1962. Chad Allan and the Reflections then signed with Quality Records and released several singles in 1963/64, which were regional hits but did not make much of a mark across Canada.

After Bob Ashley left the group in late 1965, Burton Cummings joined the band as keyboardist and co-lead vocalist (with Chad Allan) in early January 1966. This line-up only lasted for a few months before Chad Allan left, making Cummings the new full-time lead singer. By this point, the band's name had become "The Guess Who"

By the beginning of the 1970s, The Guess Who had moved toward an edgier hard-rock sound with the album American Woman, the title track for which, "American Woman" (coupled with its B-side "No Sugar Tonight") was the group's only No. 1 hit in the U.S. "American Woman" also earned The Guess Who the honor of being the first Canadian group to have a No. 1 hit on the U.S. Hot 100. 

1. American Woman
2. No Time
3. Talisman
4. No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature
5. 969 (The Oldest Man)
6. When Friends Fall Out
7. 8:15
8. Proper Stranger
9. Humpty's Blues/American Woman (Epilogue)
10. Got To Find Another Way (bonus track)

The band was inducted into The Canadian Music Hall of Fame in 1987.

Saturday, April 12, 2014

The Small Faces...psychedelic mod rock..first album from 1966 with bonus tracks

Small Faces were an English rock band from London. The group was founded in 1965 by members Steve Marriott, Ronnie Lane, Kenny Jones, and Jimmy Winston, although by 1966 Winston was replaced by Ian McLagan as the band's keyboardist.

The band is remembered as one of the most acclaimed and influential mod groups of the 1960's. With memorable hit songs such as "Itchycoo Park", "Lazy Sunday", "All or Nothing", "Tin Soldier", and their concept album Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake, they later evolved into one of the UK's most successful psychedelic acts before disbanding in 1969. After the Small Faces disbanded, with Marriott leaving to form Humble Pie, the remaining three members were joined by Ronnie Wood as guitarist, and Rod Stewart as their lead vocalist, both from The Jeff Beck Group, and the new line-up was renamed Faces. A revived version of the original Small Faces existed from 1975 to 1978.

Small Faces are also acknowledged as being one of the biggest original influences on the Britpop movement of the 1990's. Despite the fact the band were together just four years in their original incarnation, the Small Faces' music output from the mid to late sixties remains among the most acclaimed British mod and psychedelic music of that era.

This is the digitally remastered and expanded reissue of the Small Faces' 1966 debut, originally released on the Deram label.
1. Shake
2. Come On Children
3. You Better Believe It
4. It's Too Late
5. One Night Stand
6. What'cha Gonna Do About It
7. Sorry She's Mine
8. Own Up Time
9. You Need Loving
10. Don't Stop What You're Doing
11. E Too D
12. Sha La La La Lee
13. What's A Matter Baby
14. I've Got Mine *
15. Grown Your Own *
16. Almost Grown *
17. What'cha Gonna Do About It *
18. What's A Matter Baby *
19. Shake *
20. Come On Children *
21. You Better Believe It *
22. Own Up Time *
23. E Too D *
24. Come On Children *
25. Don't Stop What You're Doing *
* bonus tracks (alternative versions)

Thursday, April 3, 2014

The Animals...first album from 1964..classic blues and r'n'b from the British invasion era

The Animals were an English band of the 1960's, formed in Newcastle upon Tyne during the early part of the decade. The band moved to London upon finding fame in 1964. They were known for their gritty, bluesy sound and deep-voiced front man Eric Burdon, as exemplified by their signature song and transatlantic No.1 hit single, "The House of the Rising Sun", as well as by hits such as "We Gotta Get out of This Place", "It's My Life", "I'm Crying" and "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood". The band balanced tough, rock-edged pop singles against rhythm and blues-oriented album material. They were known in the US as part of the British Invasion.

This, their first album, released in 1964, was mainly cover versions of (now) classic R'n'B, Blues and Rock'n'Roll numbers plus the epic "The Story of Bo Diddley" written by Eric Burdon.

  1. Story Of Bo Diddley
  2. Bury My Body
  3. Dimples
  4. I've Been Around
  5. I'm In Love Again
  6. The Girl Can't Help It
  7. I'm Mad Again
  8. She Said Yeh
  9. The Right Time
  10. Memphis
  11. Boom Boom 
  12. Around And Around