Sunday, August 4, 2013

Santana...first album 1969...classic debut album by originators of Latin Blues Rock

This is Santana's debut album from 1969 and the first of three albums by the classic Santana lineup: Carlos Santana on guitar, Gregg Rolie on keyboards and vocals, Dave Brown on bass, Mike Shrieve on drums, and Jose Areas and Mike Carabello on percussion. The band's sound was then still strongly rooted in the blues (especially on "You Just Don't Care") and many of the performances are absolute classics -- especially the fiery organ-guitar duel on "Waiting" and the explosive "Soul Sacrifice". Those familiar with Santana's radio hits will of course recognize "Evil Ways" and their chugging version of Olatunji's "Jingo", while the laid-back Latin groove of "Treat" provides a nice respite. The album is a brilliant combination of Rock, Latin and African influence. If you like the stinging guitar and swirling organ of early Santana, then this will not disappoint.

1. Waiting
2. Evil Ways
3. Shades Of Time
4. Savor
5. Jingo
6. Persuasion
7. Treat
8. You Just Don't Care
9. Soul Sacrifice

No comments: